History Timeline - Carriacou
Electricity was generated by a DELCO Generator attached to the Anglican Church, which served only the Church.
Then Chief Minister, Herbert Augustus Blaize (1918-1989) switched on the lights in Hillsborough in December 1960 to formally mark the supply of electricity to the town of
In 1972 electricity was taken to Windward by then Premier, Sir Eric Matthew Gairy (1920-1997).
The wide-scale electrification initiative was started in the mid 1970’s, with the most significant achievements recorded after 1979.
Government took steps to convert GRENLEC to a public company in December 1993. In April 1993, the Grenada Electricity Services Limited was mandated by an Act of Parliament to take over the electricity services of Carriacou and Petite Martinique.
Carriacou can boast of 99.99 % electrification to date. GRENLEC serves more than 3,000 customers in Carriacou and Petite Martinique, with contingent of thirty employees.
History Timeline - Petite Martinique
A small Delco Generator supplied power to the church and the school on the island
Electricity was supplied to the island with three small generators. Steve La Crette headed up the operation, with Hudson Joseph as his assistant
The island is one hundred percent electrified, with a high reserve generating capacity